Dienstag, 15. Februar 2005

Joris Voorn Interview

Joris Voorn is a producer and DJ from the Netherlands, started dj-ing in 1997 and released his debut track in 2000 called ‘Muted Trax pt.1’ on Dutch label Keynote. It was an impressive debut receiving great reviews and was played out by renowned djs such as Carl Craig, Laurent Garnier, Dj Rush and Technasia. Joris have released two track since ‘Lost Memories Pt.1’ and ‘Lost Memories Pt.2’, which was nominated by UK electronic music magazine MixMag as “this year’s techno cross over anthem..”. Absolute was likely enough to find Joris for an interview, check it.


Hi Joris, please describe yourself in a few words.
Joris: I am a guy from the Netherlands, 27 years old and into some serious electronic music.


How's the club scene like in Rotterdam, can you tell us a bit about the clubs and the type of dance music happening there?
Joris: In the Netherlands in general there's a very lively club scene. In Rotterdam, where I live, there are also many clubs, but most of them are quite mainstream. they play from hip-hop and r&b to house and trance. There's a wide variety of different music styles, but still it can be difficult to find some good underground techno parties. Dutch people are somewhat spoiled because there're so many parties every weekend that it can be difficult to get them excited about a small but good party.


Does a background in classical music helps you in anyway in producing electronic music or being a DJ?
Joris: I don't know. Maybe it helped me with working with melodies, but for rhythmic techno grooves I guess it doesn't really helped a lot..


Tell us about your best dj-ing experience.
Joris: I like many different parties, if they're small but crowded they're usually the best. However I was playing at a huge party in Belgium last year, and there were 8.000 people in front of me which is a lot! I also played at the rockit festival last year in HK, and it was very nice, the audience was really enthusiastic and the atmosphere was great!


It must be great going into all those marijuana cafe without worrying about the police, do you have a favourite cafe for a smoke and what is your brand of choice.
Joris: Hahaha.. I don't smoke!! seriously, I have been into a 'coffee shop' in the Netherlands maybe only once or twice. So no favourite bar or brand, sorry..... I once had dinner in a place which was both a restaurant and coffee shop, so we were having dinner while some people were enjoying their joints.


How did you hook up with Sino and Amil Khan?
Joris: I got to know Technasia just when I released my first record. Charles Siegling was playing it all the time, so I gave him some more of my music on a CD. He passed it to Amil Khan who seemed to like it too.. Later on I met him in the Netherlands and we started talking about a release on the sino label. And the rest is history....


What music are you listening to recently? can you give us the names?
I listen to all kinds of music, but not so much techno. I like the warp label and artists like autechre, plaid, boards of Canada and aphex twin.


Can you give us some insight as to what we will expect when you play in Hong Kong on the 8th February?
Joris: I will be playing a more minimal techno sounding dj set, but it's definitely going to be for those who like to dance! I don't really know what to expect from the HK club crowd, so I'm very curious. But I'm sure it will be good!


Your favourite album/song of all time?
Joris: In electronic dance music one of my favourite producers is Carl Craig, he once did a remix for a Dave Angel track called Airborne, that's a master piece without any drums, just some synthstabs, I'll play it in the edge!


If your music is a type of food, what will it be?
Joris: Thai green curry [which was my lunch today and maybe my favourite food]. It's spicy but with a nice deep taste.


What was your last MP3 song you’ve downloaded?
Joris: That would be 'loose my breath' by destiny child, I downloaded it for my girlfriend who loves that song!


What do you take with you on a Saturday night out?
Joris: My records and cd's!! It would be difficult playing without them.


What's your poison?
Joris: That would beeeeee.. travelling and dj'ing which is just toooo nice. If I come back I have to get back to work.. but that's ok though, it gives me inspiration too. Besides all that, my poison can be drinking too much when
I'm having a great time at a party.


Any words to the Hong Kong clubbers?
Joris: Please come to the edge February 8th to have a great night with great music. Show me what you got!

Joris Voorn will be at Sinosphere on 8th Feb, his full length debut album called ‘Future history’ on Sino is available now.

On "Absolute"

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Aktuelle Beiträge

Was geht ab in Luxemburg?!
http://www.odd.lu http://w ww.rave.lu
Philippe La PlastiQue - 2. Dez, 15:34
Der andere Kalkbrenner
http://www.kalkbrenner.net
Philippe La PlastiQue - 2. Dez, 15:33
Digital DJ Lizenz
All over Britain: Digital DJing-Lizenz für £200 Eventuell...
Philippe La PlastiQue - 16. Sep, 11:53
Die Rente ist sicher......
Aufmerksame Clubgänger wissen, dass die Feierei mit...
Philippe La PlastiQue - 16. Sep, 10:57
Wie schon berichtet,...
Wie schon berichtet, endete ein Techno-Rave im tschechischen...
carla blank - 6. Aug, 17:34
Techno-Rave endet blutig!
Ein Techno-Rave im tschechischen Mlynec endete in einer...
carla blank - 6. Aug, 17:31
Chicago House Unity Day
Am 10. August wird es ihn erstmalig geben: Den offiziellen...
carla blank - 6. Aug, 17:29
Street- schluckt Loveparade?
Die Schweizer sollen's richten. Die Zürcher Street...
carla blank - 26. Jul, 09:55

Zufallsbild

t1xxl1

Status

Online seit 7150 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 2. Dez, 15:34

Credits


Digital Art
Electronica
Equipment
Friendship with the wisdom
House
Human Nature
Interviews
Newcomers suport
News Flash
Online Radios
Scene Review & Talk
Softwares
Tekkno
Top 10
Trance
World Sounds
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren